Skip to content

Rep. from East Bay Community Action Program

November 6, 2009

Meet Christine Capobianco!

Christine Capobianco

East Bay Community Action Program

My name is Christine Capobianco and I am a part of the Retired Senior Volunteer Program and East Bay Community Action Program. I was taught the importance of commuity service and thought that joining Americorps would be the best opportunity for me to make a contribution. At EBCAP I work on East Providence Reads, a program designed to unite volunteers and with elementary schools struggling with low test scores.  As a part of this program I myself get to go into a local elementary school and work with students on everything from comprehension to verbal skills. I think the major struggle I face with this position is know that while you may be helping to treat a problem, the problem never really goes away. It’s hard to know that sometimes all we can do is put a band aid on social issues.

“ I am a human and I have a lot of emotions. When I am feeling a lot of emotions I like to step back and pause everything for a minute.”

No comments yet

Leave a comment