Skip to content

Meet Amanda Smidt!

November 5, 2009

Over the next few weeks I will post some bios about your lovely InterCorps Council representatives. Take some time to get to know a little bit about the other AmeriCorps organizations by getting to know their Reps!

Today I would like to introduce Amanda Smidt:

Amanda Smidt

CityYear

1. What is your name?  Amanda Smidt
2. What organization do you work for? City Year Rhode Island

3. Why did you join AmeriCorps?
I first joined because I was desperate for a job and skill training, but
I’m serving a second year because I’m passionate about City Year, the
work we do, and the people I get to interact with on a daily basis!

4. What do you do at your job?

I’m the Training Project Leader, so my main duty is organizing our
training academies and leadership development days.  I also work on our
mentoring program, lead our corps morale team, assist corps members with
their leadership after City Year, and a potpourri of other random tasks.
Oh, and I get to hang at the Roger Williams Middle School after-school
program once a week!

5. What is your favorite part of your job?
City Year is definitely making a difference in the community, and it’s
made a difference to me.  I’ve learned so much about myself and my
ability.  I’ve made some amazing friends. I’ve interacted with some of
our nation’s most respected leaders. I don’t doubt that my two years of
service will set me up for fantastic opportunities in the future. I’m
fairly certain that I work with some of the funniest people around.
Plus, I love waking up in the morning and knowing exactly what I’m going
to wear!

6. What is your least favorite part of your job?
I feel very frustrated when my peers can’t see the bigger picture of the
National Service Movement.  Our jobs are exhausting.  We get paid next
to nothing.  Sometimes it feels our work is all for nothing.  But, we
have to focus on the reasons why we serve and remember that tomorrow is
a brand new day!

7. I am human and I have a lot of emotions. When I am feeling a lot of
emotions I like to…  try out a new recipe, dance around in socks on a
hardwood floor, and cuddle with my fantastic kitty, Stanley.

8. My general interests include..making art out of old records,
ljamming to the rhythmic lady beats of Leslie Hall, watching TED Talks,
listening to great storytellers, stomping my feet along with the What
Cheer? Brigade, and making as many jokes as possible…preferably punny
jokes.

No comments yet

Leave a comment